I know it is not something to be proud of, but I am one of those who grew up not knowing how to cook. Well, I can cook basic meals (so I know I wouldn’t starve) but you know, cook, cook. I am in the process of learning how to & having a 16 month old, is an added challenge. Luckily, he is not a picky eater.
My husband and I, have decided early on, not to give him anything “instant” which includes baby food that comes in a pouch or in a bottle. We do not have anything against those, it’s just that, we want to make sure that there will be no added sugar.
I was frustrated that I wasn’t able to breastfeed him past 2 months, and so I know I have to redeem myself & so, the journey to home-cooked baby food began. 🙂
When he was 6 months, his first solids were the usual – mashed squash, mashed potatoes, mashed carrots, mashed everything. We eventually added rice into the mix.
Since I am also working, I usually prepare his food in batches and I transfer those in baby food containers, to keep in the fridge for maximum of 2 days.

Some of his early favorites were rice with squash and rice with carrots.

He’s now 16 months old, and yes, he did eat a bit of those “instant” food, but thankfully, he still loves veggies. But what I am worried about is, how can I make him eat more?

page
When we are together, I try to feed him at least 2 meals and 1 or 2 light ones. I am ok when he eats half of the serving I gave him (usually 2 – 3 table spoons) but sometimes, he just doesn’t want to eat. 😦
Homemade baby food is made easier with tools like
baby-food-maker-blender-20-pieces-9465-50688471-3b2aaab08f339f092ca4c0e9e7a112f4-product

 

